Living la vida loca, baby

I was sitting here staring at the screen, trying to decide what to write about.  I don’t feel a lot of motivation to write about politics at the moment, as I’m feeling so fed up with just about every politician on the planet right about now.  But I have a week off from work and the sun is now shining. Life is good. So part of my week off is due to the fact that I have to take 2 furlough days. So at least I have a job, right?

I suppose my “spring break” is pretty lame, but it suits me just fine. I always have a hard time relaxing at home on “staycation” because I spend a good portion of my time looking around at projects rather than lounging. But yesterday was an overcast Monday, and I was actually pretty happy to sit around and finish reading my book, and occasionally bundling up and taking the dog for a walk in the rain made me feel as if I had actually accomplished something momentous.

My plan for the week does of course include projects, but nothing major and many centering around de-cluttering and clearing out. We have a houseguest coming at the end of the week, so I am extra-motivated to do some cleaning this week as well. If the dog is not quick enough, he may even get a bath before Friday gets here.

I’m trying out the little wife routine as well, since Unnamed Partner recently started a new job which pays great but has crazy hours. So here I am doing the cooking and the cleaning and the laundry all on my lonesome this week. I made banana bread yesterday, and as the oven heated up I noted the lovely smell of sweet potatoes. Opening the oven, I found two not-so-lovely sweet potatoes. I wonder how they’ve been in there, anyway …

We had torrential rain the past few days, so the ground is still way too wet to do much of anything outside. That’s a shame, because I have some outdoor things on the list as well. Trying to be patient and remember that there will be warm days ahead.  For now, I find myself juggling many responsibilities: I must return library books, patch some drywall in the bathroom (and then paint), catch up on the shredding pile, transfer clothes from the washer to the dryer, clear off the dining room table, replace the rubber gasket on the sump pump, vacuum up a few layers of dog and cat hair, start in on the new book that I will pick up from the library today, make another loaf of banana bread (they don’t last long around here), clean the front porch in anticipation of a warm afternoon — you can see how my schedule is quite full. I obviously have no time for television, other than the evening news. And that’s a good thing.

Well, I’d better get started on my chores. Right after one more cup of coffee …

4 comments

  1. Sounds like a great spring break to me. I love the last paragraph; days like that are the most satisfying for me. I’ve been in the spot you describe about politicians for a loooonnng time. I marvel at your tenacity on political matters. Thanks Sue.

  2. …’clear off the dining room table’…

    A sure sign of guests arriving at my home. It is my catchall. Enjoy your coffee, your week and RUN, FRITZ, RUN!

  3. I forgot to mention, there has been a fair amount of “puttering about” involved today, as well. I think Fritz will make it through another day bath-free.

  4. puttering about is a good thing once in awhile! enjoy your week off, and have a great weekend with your house guest!

Leave a Reply

