Soylent Green … is people Jello!

What the heck happened to Blogspot? This morning I checked my email only to find a message from Blogger saying that my blog Nailing Jello to the Wall has been locked, after being “caught” in a “spam blog filter.” After my paranoia subsided somewhat, I did a little research and it sounds like all kinds of bloggers are being locked out by Blogger for running a “potential spam blog.” And good luck trying to find out what it was about your blog that was a red flag to the “spam blog filter.” There’s no one at Google to talk to. I sent in the required “Request Review” form and supposedly my blog will be reviewed and unlocked “within two business days.” What?! I have important things to write about, people!

Well, I’ve been thinking about migrating over to WordPress, so here I am. Please bear with me as I figure it all out and rebuild and revise this site. One nice thing about this change is that the url makes a little more sense now. As soon as I’m “allowed” to, I’ll link the old site to here, so that if you’ve bookmarked the old one it’ll be easy to find your way here. (But please update your bookmarks!)

Rest assured, my fellow Jello Heads, they will not silence us!

UPDATE: Sort of. From CNet last week:

Blogspot.com cited as the No. 1 host for malware

Blogger, owned by Google, is particularly problematic … with the blog site alone accounting for nearly 2 percent of all malware hosts. It is not only possible for the Blogger sites to host malicious code, but criminal attackers can also inject links to malicious sites in the comments sections of the blogs.

A spokeperson for Google said “Google takes the security of our users very seriously, and we work hard to protect them from malware. Using Blogger, or any Google product, to serve or host malware is a violation of our product policies. We actively work to detect and remove sites that serve malware from our network.”

Heh. You bet they do. A little too actively, if you ask me. But I think now we can see this is not a malicious movement by any political group — it’s simply an attempt to fix a public relations nightmare for Google. Unfortunately, they’ve just pushed out many of their Blogger users.

D’oh!

15 comments

  1. Well, at least I know the “Comments” are working right — I’ve got a lot to do before I figure this new place out, tho!

  2. god, you are fast! they should have known better to mess with the leader of the jello heads!! you are bookmarked and i am ready to tear up this site too! LOL

  3. they should have known better to mess with the leader of the jello heads!!

    I know, right?!

  4. I got caught in the same damned filter you did. Ironic isn’t it? They send a ‘bot out to look for blogs being created by ‘bots – and catch only the legitimate blogs made by humans. It’s like something out of a science fiction movie, like maybe the visions of the apocalyptic future in the Terminator series.

    BTW, it never occurred to me to post a notice in the sidebar. Brilliant!

  5. I wish I could take credit for that, but someone suggested it in a comment I read somewhere about this locking out business.

  6. Yes, I do love your new digs! I think you’ll like WordPress once you find your way around. The one thing I like is that you can keep out the trolls just by putting their ISP or even their names in the spam control and they can’t get in. Much easier than either having to delete them individually after they make their troll appearance and you also don’t have to do that crazy word verification thing…I hate those.

    And you can get smilies! 😉

    It took me awhile to find a format that I liked because I had a hard time finding one that would fit the picture at the top of my blog. But I’m used to it now and kinda like it.

    Blogger can’t stop us! Bwahahahahahah!

  7. I haven’t quite figured out the time stamp yet (obviously!) and the getting the sidebar the way I like it will take some time, but I think this is going to be a good place to hang.

    I don’t think there’s anything nefarious about what’s going on with Blogger, but I do think it’s terrible that it is affecting so many innocent blogs and Blogger is making no official mention of it. Finally this afternoon this appeared under “Known Issues”:

    Some blogs have been mistakenly marked as spam. Affected users are not able to post to their blog and received an email indicating Blogger classified their blog as spam. We are actively working to correct the issue. — latest update on Friday, August 01, 2008

    “Some blogs”! Yeah, like half the blogs on Blogger!

  8. sue j- Yeah, it seems like they have some glitch in their system and they don’t want to admit it. I know some that were blocked almost three weeks ago and blogger still hasn’t released them. They all went to WordPress. What seemed suspicious is that every one of them were PUMA and it all happened on the same day. That seems like an odd coincidence, but who knows…

    I do think that Blogger makes setting up the sidebar a lot easier than WordPress. But that’s a minor thing, not all that important. I also wish I could figure out how to set the print on my posts to be larger. You can do it if you want to do it on each post, but I want to set it so it’s always bigger. Even with my glasses on, the small print gets to me.

  9. Goggle is messing with lots of blogs – conservative, progressive, non-political (there really are some!)… Some Typepad sites also are having problems.

  10. Trust me, I didn’t think I could live without blogger, and I got so fed up i left and came to wordpress. It takes time but the support here is fabulous. See forum in the dashboard upper right. They usually answer within an hour, and I have not yet posed a question they didn’t help me with. Everything is a bit different such as pics and such, but over time you’ll get it. Let me know if I can be of assistance, I’ve struggled though most every problem and may have an answer or two for ya. I’ll pick up the new feed and change my blogroll to your new address!

  11. Mary Ellen, this seems like the second time the Blogger filter has over-reacted. The first time definitely sounded a little more suspicious than this one …

    Cootamundra w., I know — the google forums were really quite sad to read. There were an awful lot of people posting there who had blogs about puppies, quilting, baby pictures, family vacations.

    Sherry, thanks! everyone who uses WP says good things about it. Perhaps they’re better with the customer service because they have a for-profit side, too. Blogger is totally free, and I’m afraid it shows. Maybe the paying side of WP helps carry the free side.

  12. Welcome to your new home! I’ve been running a dual Blogger/Word Press blog for about a year now. I was going to switch to Word Press, but found there were limitations I couldn’t work around so just decided to keep both sites. It’s a pain sometimes, but not really all that difficult.

    BAC

  13. BAC, thanks! I guess they each have their own pluses and minuses. It’s always a little disorienting to learn a new program, but at least now with this template the comments are large enough to read!

  14. And I just realized I’m being a little schizophrenic here, sometimes logging in as Sue J, sometimes as PookyShoehorn. And I don’t know why that’s happening. Oh well. Maybe one will be the evil twin ….

Leave a Reply

