Please deal me a new hand

Now let me just get this out of the way before I write anything else: I fully support Barack Obama for President. I do it with as much enthusiasm as I can muster, given the fact that I campaigned for Hillary Clinton and she didn’t so much “lose” the Democratic nomination as the beancounters at the end divvied up the few remaining delegates in Obama’s favor. A little bitter? Yes. Over it? Pretty much, at this point.

But.

John Edwards? Are you freakin’ kidding me?! He ran a strong campaign throughout 2007 and into 2008, all the while knowing that he had this affair in hidden away in his closet. Did he really think that no one would find out? Did he really think he could keep it a secret until he was elected into office? If so, what planet is he living on – because it must not have any cable news media, and I think I’d like to go live there, too.

John Edwards raised– and spent — a lot of money, accumulated many hardworking and idealistic supporters, and tried to win the Democratic nomincation, even though the affair would surely have been exposed well before November.

Oh, and he did one other thing. He won 30% of the vote in the Iowa caucus. D’oh!

You’ll recall that way back in January, the Iowa results were Obama, Edwards, and Clinton. In fact, the New York Times ran the headline Obama Triumphs in Iowa Contest as Clinton Falters. And then, perhaps you remember Obama’s victory speech:

Speaking to supporters after declaring victory, Mr. Obama said: “They said this day would never come. They said our sights were set too high. They said this country was too divided, too disillusioned, to come together over a common purpose.”

He continued: “You have done what the cynics said you couldn’t do. You have done what the state of New Hampshire can do in five days. You have done what America can do in this new year, 2008. We are one nation, we are one people, and the time for change has come.”

Blah blah blah. Oh – I’m sorry, did I write that out loud?

Here’s the thing – it’s not about whether Edwards “cost” Clinton the nomination, as some of her supporters have claimed today. Who really knows whether those Edwards supporters would have gone to Clinton or to Obama? No, this is about the striking differences that still exist in our society, whether we want to admit it or not. Tell me I’m “playing the sexism card” if you want to. But the card I hold has another hardworking woman, doing her job, taking care of her family, and doing what’s right. And meanwhile, the men play on, because they can.

I won’t play that card if you’ll please deal me a new hand.

5 comments

  1. I say play the card how you see it! I concur, the men will play because they can. I could go on, but I won’t.

  2. Bravo, such were pretty much my sentiments yesterday in my post. I reamed our boy John for his stupidity. I’m infuriated to say the least. I don’t know whether it cost Hillary or not. I too was her supporter. We shall never know that one. It is as you say, guys being stupid guys once again.

  3. Well, CLAIRE in all your glory! Glad you stopped by (how did you find the time with your new “wheels” and all?!)

    And Sherry, I guess stupid is as stupid does! Ha!

  4. I’ve been asked to write about this… I find it amazing that Edwards was so stupid, but that his wife (who I would elect on her own) would be that stupid, too.

    Did they not look across the podium at the Clinton’s and KNOW this was going to get out?

    Now,Obama is in a position to pick VP with a boring, no highlight campaign and McCain is closing in- or ahead.

    does he pick Clinton?

    will she come clean up the mess, say the hard things about McCain and be the bitch that wins it after all?

    food for thought…

  5. Well, Sara, as you’ll remember we used to say: Bitches get stuff done …

    I think if Obama was smart he would ask Clinton to be his VP. But I don’t honestly know if she would accept. She knows she can get a lot more done in the Senate than she really could as VP.

Leave a Reply

