McCain Watch: It’s all POW, all the time

I have to give Joe Biden credit for a great line during the Democratic primaries, when he said that Rudy Giuliani’s sentences all consisted of “A noun, a verb, and 9/11.” Because as you’ll recall, the answer to every question to Rudy started out “On 9/11 ….” Well, I think we have a new winner in the spin-o-rama contest: John “But I was a POW” McCain!

Appearing on the Tonight Show with Jay Leno, McCain was again asked that pesky question about the number of houses he and his wife own. McCain was quick to answer:

“I spent 5 1/2 years in a prison cell. I didn’t have a house. I didn’t have a kitchen table. I didn’t have a table.”

Wait. What?

If you want to read what another POW has to say about John McCain, read this: I Spent Years as a POW with John McCain, and His Finger Should Not Be Near the Red Button.

UPDATE: I just stumbled across another example of the “Power of the POW” over at Crooks & Liars. It seems McCain loves him some ABBA, and he has this questionable taste in music because … you guessed it! He was a POW!

“If there is anything I am lacking in, I’ve got to tell you, it is taste in music and art and other great things in life,” McCain joked. “I’ve got to say that a lot of my taste in music stopped about the time I impacted a surface-to-air missile with my own airplane and never caught up again.”

h/t to Politits

9 comments

  1. Rachel Maddow called him out on this last night, much to the chagrin of her utterly flummuxed colleagues, who could not hide their hurumphing at her affrontery.

    McCain will keep rolling this out because it’s all he’s got.

    We need to start a pool: how many POW references will he make at the first “debate”?

    My guess: ummmm… at least six.

  2. QuakerDave, Rachel Maddow may be our best hope for getting through the next 2 months with sanity in place.

    Fred, I promise to try to “be nicer with Obama.” But I still feel like the Democratic slogan has become:

    Obama/Biden 08: Not as bad as the other guys

    But I hear ya.

  3. It just grates at me too, but at this point, I think everytime he mentions it, he digs his own hole a little deeper. It bugs everyone now. It’s such a pandering load of crap.

Leave a Reply

