Talk amongst yourselves

I’ll be taking a few days off to tend to family. Unfortunately, Mother Jello took a fall and is in the hospital. It’s a helluva way to spend your 87th birthday, I’ll tell ya!

Not sure when I’ll post next — but we’ll be discussing all the events of the week, I’m sure, so I’ll be ready when I get back. Mom can’t get around the way she used to, and she does forget things sometimes, but this has never diminished her disgust for George W. Bush.

So play nice while I’m gone, say a little prayer for Mother Jello on her birthday tomorrow, and I’ll be back when I can. And meanwhile, did I mention that Mother Jello is a poet? The following is from one of her books, so let’s call it “early Wednesday poetry break”:

Green Stem

We lean our hearts
on the window sills
of each other’s lives,

water plants
at the edge,
turn leaves
to the sun.

Love grows
from a green stem.

11 comments

  1. Oh dear Sue! Prayers and good wishes for you all. Hang in there and know that you are all thought of with great affection from out here.

  2. Oh no! Gosh, I’m so sorry to hear about what happened to your mom. Of course my prayers will be coming fast and furious for her. I’m glad you can be with her…and thank you for the lovely poem.

  3. Have mother jello watch a little of Sarah Palin’s speech tonight. That ought to make her laugh.

    take care and remember to walk outside from time to time. Hospitals can become timeless tombs-

  4. Just got back to my computer – our thoughts are with you and your family. As Sara said, remember to walk outside. Remember to find things to make you smile. Give lots of hugs.
    Take care.

  5. Hello all. I just talked with Sue, who asked me to write and let everyone know that Mother Jello is resting comfortably and the prognosis is pretty good. Sue is doing OK too.

  6. SO sorry to hear about your mom (mine is 89 and took a fall back in January, she’s OK though!). Glad to hear that the prognosis is good for your mom. Hope she recovers quickly. Best wishes to you both.

  7. Hey folks! I don’t have time to really write a post, but wanted to let you know that things are going well. Mother Jello’s hoping to have a procedure tomorrow to fuse a fractured vertebra, if blood levels get to the right level. Thanks so much for all your kind words. I hope to post more tomorrow.

    How about that Sarah Palin speech, huh?

  8. so glad to hear mother jello is on the mend, and that you are able to be there with her. my thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

Leave a Reply

