News from the homefront

Crummy cell phone picture of Mother Jello holding Earl GreySeveral folks have asked me how Mother Jello is doing, so I thought I’d fill you in on the goings on around here. I haven’t had the time to write the more thoughtful posts that I enjoy writing, and that I think you enjoy reading, but hopefully things will calm down a little soon and I can get back to those occasionally.

Here’s a (crummy cell phone) picture of Mother Jello yesterday, holding the stray kitteh they took in, Earl Grey Earl.

Mother Jello is happily back at home now! She got home yesterday afternoon, and promptly asked for a glass of sherry. (Yes, Sara, I gave it to her — in fact we had a toast!) I’m hoping that she will continue to be able to be as independent as she has been, but I’d be lying if I said that was a sure thing. Time will tell. But her injured back has healed, and she’s a speed demon with a walker now.

I know a lot of other people with elderly parents and we’ve often talked about the frustration when they don’t want to move to a home that would be easier for them to live in. My parents have been in this house for 45 years, and dogonne it they’re staying. Even though it has several levels, and a huge backyard that they never go out in anymore. But it’s what they know, and where they feel safe.

I wish the rest of us felt they were safe there. {Sigh.} Biggest Brother lives there with them, and I fear he’s going to burn out soon. He rarely complains, but I know he gets worn down sometimes. Middle brother does what he can, but is dealing with some pretty serious health issues of his own, so doesn’t have the ability to do more right now. So I go and help out during the week.

Only problem is, I like my routine — anyone who knows me would probably say to a fault. But I enjoy having the same commute everyday, coming home and walking the dog every evening, having dinner with my sweetie, and falling in to my own bed. Tonight I’m back home again, but things are not right. Sweetie has class tonight, so she isn’t home yet. The kitchen is a mess because, well let’s be honest, she’s is an awesome cook — but I’m the dishwasher. And she’s working like 3 different jobs at the moment and taking 2 classes at night.

But I took the dog for a walk, have washed some dishes, and I’m making myself something to eat for dinner.  Of course I’ll watch the news, happy that Jello Mother has finally gotten over her feeling that John McCain is “better prepared” than Barack Obama (it was the Washington Post story about his first wife that finally did it, I think) to be President. Hopeful that we can somehow get out of this national economic mess we’re in, hopeful that the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan will end soon (remember them?).

Meanwhile, I gotta go. It’s time to call my my folks and see how they’re doing tonight.

9 comments

  1. welcome home mother jello! i don’t know you, but am so proud of your independence! my own mother is 93 and lived alone,and drove, which was quite scary, up till last year when she announced at thanksgiving she wanted to move into an adult community so that she didn’t have to eat alone. oh, ok!! i affectionately call her my “tough ol bird” may mother jello live and thrive for many many more years!

  2. I’m so glad the your mother is doing well! My parents are in their seventies, but since I don’t see them but maybe once a year, everytime I do see them, they seem to be so much more aged than before. I worry what’s going to happen if one of them becomes unable to care for themselves or get around. I’m afraid the lion’s share of the work will fall to my siblings and I’m going to have to work hard to contribute in a meaningful way to keep resentment from building up.

    And I hear you about sticking to a routine. I do so much better when I’m in my groove.

    Take care, SueJ.

  3. I’m so glad your mom is back home and feeling better. Good for her, toasting with the sherry! My mom, who is 89, has a glass of sherry every night before dinner and she’s going strong so I think it’s medicinal, LOL!

    It is hard worrying about our aging parents; glad your brother lives with them, so they’re not on their own. But I know it is a strain caring for aging parents so hope he’s holding up.

  4. Donald, where have you been! I was starting to get worried that you;d fallen off a lobster boat or something! Thank you for your well-wishes!

    DCup, my only advice o the sibling/resentment thing is to to just be sure to stay involved however you can. If it’s just to lend an ear, or to check in regularly, that will go a long long way.

    Mauigirl, I think the sherry is what keeps them going!

  5. well, a glass of something is going to keep me going at some point…

    love her a lot. give your brother there a vacation somewhere- even if it’s to swap houses for a week.

    and having looked at what time apart can do a relationship straight in the eye I can say, really engage when you are with your sweetie. This won’t last forever but the damage that can happen is huge.

    make a picnic in front of the fireplace. promise once a week you both walk the dog together. read the sunday paper in bed together even if there is a ton of other work to do.

    write her goofy love notes.

    just stay connected.

  6. well, a glass of something is going to keep me going at some point…

    I’m already making arrangements for my bottle i.v.

    Unnamed Partner, aka sweetie, and I really have been making an effort to have “quality” time when together. We have had some bumpy times in the past, which truly has made us stronger together — if nothing else for the fact that we both recognize it early on when there’s a distance growing between us.

    One thing we do together is work on a crossword puzzle every night before we turn out the light. So there you have it, all you fundamental right-wing anti teh gays — our wild passionate deviant lifestyle has been exposed!

  7. i’ve been around, although been back and forth to boston for sox games a couple times. haven’t felt much like making political comments lately. it has all been said!

Leave a Reply

