Sarah Palin Chronicles: Myth #10: She’s “okay with teh gay!”

Sarah Palin at the Vice Presidential debate:

But I also want to clarify, if there’s any kind of suggestion at all from my answer that I would be anything but tolerant of adults in America choosing their partners, choosing relationships that they deem best for themselves, you know, I am tolerant and I have a very diverse family and group of friends and even within that group you would see some who may not agree with me on this issue, some very dear friends who don’t agree with me on this issue.

Tolerate: to put up with, to endure.

How nice she’s puts up with diversity. Except, she doesn’t even really do that. Despite the fact that she supposedly has a “gay friend” (that’s right, Governor, don’t say “lesbian” — you might catch it!!), she hasn’t shown much tolerance for the gay and lesbian residents of Alaska:

From Gay City News:

The McCain campaign has very effectively spun the veto to show Palin, 44, as sympathetic toward the gay and lesbian community.
Palin opposes same sex marriage.
A 2006 Anchorage Daily News story, said of Palin: “She’s not out to judge anyone and has good friends who are gay,” but that “she supported the 1998 constitutional amendment.”
Some press reports following the McCain campaign announcement have repeated that right-wing rhetorical flourish that has Palin declaring that she has gay friends. That softer image is not what some Alaskans saw.
“That’s just completely wrong,” said Allison E. Mendel, the attorney who brought the 1999 case. “She spoke on radio programs all throughout the campaign saying, ‘I want a constitutional amendment, I think these things are only for a man and a woman.’ … I don’t think she’s ever said a friendly word about gay people, that they ought to have health benefits like other people do or anything along those lines.”
On AIDS issues, Palin simply has no record at all.
“There is not a lot to speak of for AIDS policy because she hasn’t done much,” said Trevor Storrs, executive director of the Alaskan AIDS Assistance Association. “She’s never been given the opportunity to address our situation here because it has never been put before her.”
With roughly 1,200 AIDS cases, Alaska is a “low incidence state,” Storrs said, and most of its HIV funds come from the federal government.
I love that last line. “Yah, get out of here you awful Federal government. Except when we need you. Then we’ll take your money. You betcha!”

Maybe there’s this impression that she’s friendly with teh gay because she basically looks like a bad drag queen’s impression of Tina Fey. I dont’ want someone in office who is basically saying she’ll “put up with” me, but in the same breath wants to take away my civil rights because of my orientation.

Will we ever meet “the gay friend”? Maybe she walked off that Bridge to Nowhere rather than publicly support McCain-Palin. Maybe … she doesn’t really exist at all.

6 comments

  1. I agree and thought the same thing when I heard her little speech about “teh gay.” Please, save us the pain Sarah.

    A few weeks ago I saw a video on a blog… now I can’t recall where, but it was about 10 minutes long and worth every minute. A number of gay Wasilla natives speaking about SP.

  2. Her response during the debate about “tolerating” was offensive. She didn’t need to speak in code, she pretty much said what she meant by using that word.

  3. my in-laws came away from the vp debate with the conclusion that “obama and mccain have the same stance on gay marriage.”

    i had to explain while they both are against gay marriage, there are absolutely huuuuge differences between the two candidates. it is honestly hurtful that they were not offended by her ‘tolerating’ the gays. then again, it shouldn’t surprise me, he’s not offended by fox news either.

    it is scary though, how many people who have gay friends or relatives that have clue about the details of our lives on a day to day basis. imagine how clueless folks with no gay family/friends are!! how many people have gay kids yet still vote for someone who would make the lives of their children harder. how are they not offended and mad????

  4. And, of course, it was a slap in the face when Sarah spoke of her “gay friend” that she “would not make that choice (my emphasis). That tells me she has a commanding understanding of “teh gays”–NOT!

  5. Fran, I saw that somewhere, too. I’ll have to dig it up.

    Mauigirl, it is sometimes hard to know what she is saying, but that was pretty clear, wasn’t it?

    CBC, I often find that my straight friends and family don’t seem to connect “gay rights” with people they love, like me and my partner. It’s like “teh gay” is someone else, not me. Me and my partner — they’d vote for us to get equal rights, just not, you know, “them.”

    Border Explorer, I wonder how her “friend” feels about being “tolerated.” that must be a real close friendship.

  6. The minute I heard the lipstick wonder say that her gay friend “chose” differently than she would, I knew the dame was no friend of gays or anyone else she disagreed with fundamentally. She would happily restrict the rights of all of us if she could. Thank goodness that doesn’t appear likely.

Leave a Reply

