My brush with bloggy greatness

On Saturday, I was lucky enough to actually sit with — and even talk to! — some of my all-time favorite bloggers. BAC of Yikes! organized a Blogger Meetup in DC as part of the annual meeting of Americans United for Separation of Church and State. (It turns out that  FranIAm is quite the paparazzi (paparazzo?), so head on over to her place for lots of photos of the Meetup.)

All my friends wanted to know “Did you meet DCup?” And to borrow a phrase from the President Elect, let me say, “Yes I did!” I also met the incomparable Tengrain from Mock, Paper, Scissors, who received the “Postie” Award for his brilliant blogging efforts. And there were also some other bloggers whose comments I have read at some of these sites but I must admit, whose blogs I had not visited. Of course that will change after having met Dr. Zauis of Zaius Nation and DistributorCap of distributorcapNY.

What was it like, you say? Well, it was a little bit like the Algonquin Roundtable on speed. And actually, not really snarky at all. But I think at almost all times there was a minimum of 3 conversations going on at the table where I was sitting. And of course I wanted to hear what everyone was saying!  That was way more social interaction than I usually do on a Saturday afternoon, and I think I’m still recovering from trying to keep up with these folks. But I completely enjoyed myself, and gained lots of ideas for future posts.

Now, start clicking on those links above and visit my friends!

11 comments

  1. That must have been great! I’ve already been at Fran’s and looked at the pictures – what a wonderful get-together it was!

    Speaking of Americans United for Separation of Church and State, is there going to be another Blog Against Theocracy?

  2. Did I get a chance to meet you? If not, next year for sure!

    And yes there will be another blog against theocracy. We do it every Easter Weekend.

  3. Mauigirl, it was awesome! I was kind of hoping you might be there, too! Maybe next time!

    Tengrain, it was such a pleasure to meet the master of Mock! Congratulations again on the award!

    Dr Z! I’ll send your order right over. Strawberry or lime?

  4. Blue Gal, unfortunately, our paths did not cross. I had to leave early and I think your flight was delayed? I was quite disappointed, because yours was one of the first blogs I really followed before venturing off on my own.

    Next year!

  5. I did read all about it at Fran’s. Sounds like you guys had a great time! Nice to see all the pics too

  6. Okay, next year you are going to have to block out the whole day for us! Thanks again for coming, it was wonderful having everyone in the same place!

    BAC

  7. Reading the posts of those present at the “Americans United for the…” is a bit like watching the Oscars to star-gaze. I can only imagine what it was like to be there. So glad you had this opportunity.

Leave a Reply

