Winter’s Last Stand

I’m hoping that today is Winter’s Last Stand, but I am going to enjoy it while I can. I have no idea how many inches of snow we have on the ground right now, because I am still in my pajamas drinking coffee at 10:00 am on a Monday.

How cool is that?

I was up at 5:30 and checked the university website, happy to find that we’re closed today so that I could crawl back into bed. I was toying with taking the day anyway, as the weekend turned out to be incredibly busy. Running around and getting a new battery for the car, visiting with my parents, hiking with the dog — all good and worthwhile things to do. But it didn’t leave much time for reading the newspaper, baking bread, writing — or sleeping in.

I suppose that if I really hope to catch up on some those things, I’d better finish my coffee and get dressed. Because now I also need to add “shovel the walk” and “clear off the car” to my lists of tasks for the day. But for just a few more minutes, I think I’ll sit here in front of the heater with my sweetie and relax. The seed catalogs have been coming in, and before you know it, we’ll be busy in the garden and with other Spring projects.

4 comments

  1. …because I am still in my [jeans, not Dockers work pants] and drinking coffee at 10:00 am on a Monday…

    At least six inches of frozen white crap on the ground, and it’s still coming.

    But for a change, I don’t care. 🙂

  2. don’t be wimps, and be gald you had an unexpected day off!

    i haven’t seen bare ground since the first week in december and have shoveled more snow than i care to think about. but it is winter and i live in maine. it will make the green grass, budding trees and flowers and the singing birds all the more exciting. won’t be long for you, but awhile yet for us, but it is coming!

Leave a Reply

