Wednesday Poetry Break: Read Aloud Edition

I heard this one this morning on The Writer’s Almanac as I was driving to work. In posting it here I now realize that it must be read aloud to get the full effect.  (Even better if you can imagine Garrison Keillor’s voice reading it.) So please shut the door, get off the phone, or whatever else you need to do, but spend a moment enjoying the wordplay in this little treasure from Morris Bishop:

The Naughty Preposition

I lately lost a preposition:
It hid, I thought, beneath my chair.
And angrily I cried: “Perdition!
Up from out of in under there!”

Correctness is my vade mecum,
And straggling phrases I abhor;
And yet I wondered: “What should he come
Up from out of in under for?”

Morris Bishop

Leave a Reply

