Friday Music Video: Remembering Michael Jackson

What can I say that hasn’t already been written about Michael Jackson? He was  the definition of a tortured genius, that is for sure.  We didn’t know that the cute little kid singing “ABC” and “I’ll Be There” was living with physical abuse at the hands of his father, and who knows what that did to Michael. Eccentric personal life aside (remember “Bubbles?” The ’80s were not kind to Michael Jackson), Michael Jackson has always been a part of the music scene during my lifetime: from “Rockin’ Robin,” to “Thriller,” to “We Are the World.” It’s hard to imagine that he’s gone.

Rest in Peace, Michael Jackson.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Friday Music Video: Remembering Micha…“, posted with vodpod
3 comments

  1. “tortured genius” – so true!

    I never thought I was a “fanatic” of MJ, but I definitely appreciated his talents in so many areas of entertainment. The news of his death though actually struck a strong cord in me that I usually don’t have for celebrities. Maybe because we grew up through the same times. Since his and his brothers debut on Ed Sullivan that I watched on our black and white Philco, the population always had the lastest story on what was going on with him. And then again, maybe because it hits the cord of my own mortality since he was 6 months younger than I.

  2. Well, there’s mortality, and then there’s mortality. Michael Jackson was not kind to himself. Stay away from prescription painkillers, Morgan, and I think you’ll live a long and happy life ….

    I have an abundance of family and friends who turn 50 this year. This is jarring, to say the least.

  3. ah, I grew up with michael. I love michael. I loved ABC, One two three, I love it all… Even when he turned into a freak as he grew older, I’ll pull out my old CD’s of his old albums, Off the Wall, Thriller, and listen to him when he was something amazingly special without the weirdness.

    I pity his kids. They will be hounded for their lives. it is a shame.

Leave a Reply

