Brain Overload

Let me tell you how this blog-writing thing works (for me, anyhow). I will either read or experience something that seems profound or that shakes me up so much that I feel compelled to say more about it. Now, I know my posting has been a little sporadic lately. That hasn’t been from a lack of inspiration for topics, but rather, from from too many topics to choose from. Watching the news and reading the paper, there are two types of stories that I usually feel strong enough to write about: (1) powerful enduring stories that have long-lasting effects (Afghanistan, health care, Guantanamo Bay, equal rights, economics, etc.), and then there are what I call the “news blip” stories: (2) Sarah Palin resigns, Mark Sanford cheats on his wife and the people of South Carolina, Michael Jackson, etc.

Lately there have been way too many news blip stories, which have pushed the more important and topics off the front pages — here and in the MSM.  I promise I do have some thoughtful posts coming, but in the meantime, I’m taking the easy way out and directing you to some interesting articles that you otherwise might miss:

Tensions Mount in Honduras as Crisis Talks Move to US

An Urgent Call from Honduras to US and International Activists

(written by our bloggy friend, Border Explorer)

7 American troops killed in Afghan incidents

Eager to Tap Iraq’s Vast Oil Reserves, Industry Execs Suggested Invasion

Impunity for war crimes in Gaza and southern Israel a recipe for further civilian suffering

Was Navy Sailor Killed For Being Gay?

Former Inmate Says Photos Show Abuse at Guantánamo

And, on a slightly lighter note:

Confirmed: God is Slightly Gay

One comment

  1. I believe the reasons behind the tension, stress and killings in the first grouping of articles is caused by individuals not accepting the truth in the last article.

Leave a Reply

