Live in Maryland? We need your help!

AnnieSpecifically, my little canine friend Annie needs your help! Here’s the scoop from my friend Pam:

HELP! I just learned that one of my foster dogs, Annie, was in an auto accident Friday near Hagerstown, MD. Her people were injured and are in the hospital. She’s wary of strangers and ran from rescuers.

If you know anyone in Washington County, …please ask them to be on the lookout for a 35ish-pound black-and-white spotted dog with three legs. If they see her, they should sit down and offer some really good, smelly food. Also, they should contact the Humane Society of Washington County at 301-733-2060 and reporter Scott Hersberger at NBC channel 25 at 301-797-4400.

Without going into her whole story, let’s just say that Annie has had a hard life, and is therefore kind of skittish around people. But she is a total sweetheart, and it just breaks my heart to think that she’s out there, lost from her owners who are stuck in the hospital. I’m sure they are heart broken that they’re not able to be out looking for Annie, because she surely would come running to them if she saw them.

I never know who reads this blog, but if you or anyone you know travels on I-70 and passes over South Mountain near Hagerstown, Maryland, please pass along this message. Annie is a very sweet dog, and is micro-chipped.

Annie would appreciate it, and so would I!

5 comments

  1. Suzi, Sue, Pam and everyone else…thank you for helping us hold out some hope that Annie is somehow surviving, and will be returned to us.

    The crash, thank God, involved no vehicles other than our 3/4 ton SUV and big travel trailer. How any of us survived the wreck I cannot say. The short version is that the trailer started to sway as we began descending South Mountain, and I could not recover from that sway without taking the chance of involving someone else on the highway. Truck and trailer weighed a combined 15,000 pounds, and they were pretty well pulverized. I look at the photos and I still can’t believe anyone survived.

    Bailey got some burns escaping the wreckage, and he’s healing. Four days after the wreck we discovered that my “compressed” spine fracture was in serious danger of becoming “displaced,” which would have left me paralyzed. The surgery was a week ago today, and although I am in considerable pain, I am alive, I am home, and have two of my three most loved ones nearby.

    Peggy has had no serious problems surface, although he is bruised from one end to the other.

    What has been pleasantly surprising is everyone’s heartfelt and spontaneous kindness: the people witnessing the crash; the hospital and EMT crews; the wrecking company; the county SPCA; the newspapers and TV; and folks who have just found us to say they are in some way pulling for us. We start to think of the world in terms of some of the worst comments to be found on the Internet, which can be full of pathological hatred.

    If our combined “good thoughts” manage to reunite us with Annie, I’ll be even more grateful.

  2. Stan, thank you so much for stopping by and letting us know how you’re doing. I know that stretch of I-70 well, and I can only imagine how scary that must have been for you all. So glad to hear that you and your wife, and your other pup, are on the road to recovery now.

    I met Annie when Pam was fostering her, occasionally bringing her in to the office, and she totally won my heart. Annie’s such a sweet girl and has had such a hard life already, it breaks my heart to think what’s going on now.

    But she’s a strong girl, too, that’s for sure! And hopefully with everyone on the lookout and sending thoughts and prayers her way, you’ll soon be reunited with Annie.

  3. Sue, this afternoon was my first post-op follow up with the spine surgeon. He mentioned a similar story where two dogs went missing and were recovered a fulll six weeks later.

    So the important thing will be to keep Annie’s story alive.

    When we first met Annie via DoggySpace, we realized the size of her personality and the importance of her story. She seems to have been put here for a purpose, and our purpose seems to be making her story known.

    I’ve been towing big RV trailers for more than ten years, and have been in these side-sway situations more than once. Usually you pour on a lot more throttle, and the tow vehicle pulls the trailer straight. Here if I’d done that, I’d have been into a mess of traffic before I knew whether or not that would work. The only choice was to back off and hope for control using the manual over-ride on the trailer brake. (In that scenario, you let the weight of the trailer and its brakes stop the truck.) There was about a five second window in which any of this had to work, and we missed.

    Because the truck was 11 years old, we got beaten up on depreciation, and we lost everything on the trailer, having decided a few years ago not to continue collision insurance. Luckily, our road service policy will covering uprighting and towing the trailer, which in itself cost over $800.

Leave a Reply

