Friday Music Video: Für Elise Remix? Really Sue J?

Today’s video has a little narrative:  It’s sure sign of Spring when the ice cream trucks start making their rounds. When I was a kid in the late ’60s and early ’70s, we would await the arrival of the Good Humor man, his truck sparkling white with pristine pictures of all the goodies to be bought for only a quarter. The chocolate eclair was always my favorite. (It still is, truth be told. But since I no longer spend the entire day riding around my neighborhood on my green Schwinn Sting-Ray with the banana seat, it’s much harder to burn off the thousands of calories in those things.)

Anyway, that truck drove slowly through our neighborhood ringing a string of bells that hung inside the windshield bells to herald its arrival. But now I live in Baltimore, and it’s nothing like my suburban dream childhood. The ice cream trucks here are beat-up, rusty old things with (poorly) hand painted signs on the side. But their most defining feature is the call they make: they play 2 songs over a loudspeaker: either “Turkey in the Straw” or the first few bars of “Für Elise.” Well, I heard the distant call of Für Elise yesterday afternoon, and thus begins another creepy season, where at 11 o’clock at night on hot a summer’s eve with bedroom windows open, I hear the opening strains of Für Elise in the distance and begin again to wonder if I am living inside some odd Foreign film.

So here’s an interesting techno version, entitled “Für Elise Remix (The Best One),” which is one of the few videos that correctly used the umlaut over the “u.” Yes, grammar nerd strikes again. Anyhow, enjoy!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

6 comments

  1. My Aunt told my cousins that the ice cream truck was the music man and he sold records. They live a deprived childhood until I spilled the sprinkles, so to say, when visiting one day. Banana creamsicles were always my favorite on those hot Texas days.

  2. my kids always remind me that the ice cream truck would come by and I already had them in bed!

    so mean. so so so mean.

    um… my guess is the trucks were beat up back in the day but you didn’t see it that way because … I mean… ICE CREAM MAN!!!!

  3. Morgan, didn’t your cousins ever wonder why the Music Man had pictures of ice cream treats on the side of his truck?

    Sara, I really did grow up in an idyllic time and place. We had milk delivered to the house, we had the “Egg Man” who came on Friday mornings bringing us fresh eggs, bacon, and fresh turkeys at Thanksgiving and Christmas. My brothers and I spent all day on our bikes riding around the neighborhood, playing in the woods behind the house, and the only rule was that we had to go home when the streetlights came on.

    And for any John Waters fans out there, “The Egg Man” is not at all like “The Egg Lady.”

  4. They were never allowed that close to actually see the sides of the truck. They are both in therapy now. See what you have to look forward to Sara. We will see the boys on Dr. Phil in the future.

  5. Personally, I wish the ice cream truck in my neighborhood was playing something this classy. We get ‘The Ghetto Ice Cream Truck’ song. It’s like having a demented clown yelling ‘Hello’ through the streets.

  6. Although I was never afraid of clowns, that WalMart ad has given me nightmares…

    I don’t think I could handle a demented clown driving around the neighborhood — even if he had chocolate eclairs!

Leave a Reply

