Wednesday Poetry Break: Seuss on the Loose!

Happy Dr. Seuss’s birthday!  A cool site with all things Seuss can be found at Seussville.  But until you find your way over to Mulberry street, here’s a passage from one of my favorite Dr Seuss stories for your enjoyment:

Yertle the Turtle

“I’m Yertle the Turtle!
Oh, marvelous me!
For I am the ruler of
all that I see!”

“Your Majesty.
Please… I don’t like
to complain.
But down here
below, we are feeling
great pain.”

“And the turtles, of course…
All the turtles are free
As turtles and, maybe,
all creatures
should be.”

— Dr Seuss

Leave a Reply

