Day Nine: Someone(s) You Love

So many friends and family to choose from, so few who would let me take their picture. Those of you who are long-time readers of this blog know that Unnamed Partner wants to remain anonymous on this blog, and I respect that. Also, I wasn’t about to ask to take her picture when she hadn’t even finished her coffee this a.m.  It’s a shame, because I love her so, and she was the first person I thought of, of course, for this challenge.  But here’s a photo of me and my boys, both of whom I also love with all my heart. Mean Dave is on the left (he’s not really mean, but he embraces his inner curmudgeon), Tom on the right, the oldest, the caretaker of plants and people. Of course we fussed and argued over the years, as all siblings do, I guess. But I love this picture, taken by my Dad I’m sure, from about 1963.  It sits in a frame in my living room, and it always, always makes me smile.

My Mom has told me many times that at about the age when this photograph was taken, I would wait impatiently for my brothers to get home from school and ask “Where are my boys?”

10 comments

  1. that picture reminds me of my sister, who was the youngest, with 5 older brothers. she was always holding court too!

  2. I’ve always wished to inquire of this picture since I first saw it posted years ago. Such expressions on each of your faces.
    There are pictures of my childhood in our family album that I can actually remember the moment the picture was taken.
    I was wondering if this was one of those for you….

    1. @Morgan, I don’t really remember this time in my life; I was pretty young here — less than 2 years old in this picture. But I have in general a pleasant memory of my early childhood. Our parents were in the Foreign Service and when this picture was taken we were living in Costa Rica. My brothers and I have always been pretty close, and they really were my whole world here in this picture. It really was a carefree time in our lives.

      The expressions on our faces remind me of a lesson I had when I was getting my Masters in Teaching: the Prof asked the class of 20 or so adults “Who here can sing?” and about 3 or 4 people raised their hands. hen she said, “Now imagine how many hands would go up if I asked that in a kindergarten classroom?” Because of course at some point we become self-conscious and aware of our personal limitations. You do NOT want me to sing, trust me. But at the age I was in this picture, I am quite sure I would often sing at the top of my lungs! Because, silly adults, everyone can sing!”

Leave a Reply

